

Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario



Special Meeting of Council Via Teleconference February 11, 2019

Minutes of the Special Meeting of Council of the Ontario College of Teachers Held Via Teleconference on February 11, 2019

TABLE OF CONTENTS

		Page
1.	Call to Order/Welcome	3
2.	Agenda and Approval of Preparation Time	3
3.	Conflict of Interest	3
4.	Business	4
	4.1 Executive Committee Appointed Member Vacancy	4
5	Adjournment	4

Minutes of the Special Meeting of Council of the Ontario College of Teachers Held Via Teleconference on February 11, 2019

Present: Charles Dimitry Abraham, OCT; Diane Ballantyne, OCT; Paige Bennett,

OCT; Bob Cooper, OCT; Chantal Côté, OCT; Elizabeth Edgar-

Webkamigad, OCT; Susan E. Elliott-Johns, OCT; Rebecca Forte, OCT; Melissa Gaffen, OCT; Tim Gernstein, OCT (Vice-Chair); Erin Glen, OCT; John Hamilton, OCT (in person); Godwin Ifedi; Jacqueline Karsemeyer,

OCT; Colleen Landers; Shannon Marcus, OCT; Marlène Marwah; Michelle Miner Seal; Mary-Anne Mouawad, OCT; Alicia Nunn, OCT;

Tom Potter; Nicola Powadiuk, OCT; Vincent Rinaldo, OCT;

Jonathan Rose (in person); Michael Salvatori, OCT (Registrar); Nicole van Woudenberg, OCT (Chair) (in person); Stephen Zimmermann, OCT

Regrets: Jean-Luc Bernard, OCT; Irene Dembek, OCT; Mary Ellen Gucciardi,

OCT; Sara Nouini, OCT; Gerry O'Reilly, OCT; Stéphane Vallée, OCT;

Ronna Warsh

Staff: Kim Bauer; Tan Crombie; Richard Lewko; Charlie Morrison

1. Call to Order/Welcome

The Chair of Council, Nicole van Woudenberg, called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m. and welcomed all present. She indicated that the Registrar, Michael Salvatori, would confirm attendance by roll call and requested that if possible, members use the mute function on their telephones during the meeting.

2. Agenda and Approval of Preparation Time (GC20190211-01)

The Chair of Council confirmed that no preparation time was allocated for the Special Meeting and that additional time representing the duration of the meeting would be reflected on the attendance register for the February 28, 2019 Council meeting.

It was moved by Rebecca Forte, seconded by Jonathan Rose, and

CARRIED,

That the Agenda for the February 11, 2019 Special Meeting of Council be approved.

3. Conflict of Interest

No conflicts were declared.

4. Business

4.1 Executive Committee Appointed Member Vacancy (GC20190211-02)

The Chair of Council noted that two appointed Council members had come forward to fill an appointed member vacancy on the Executive Committee until May 15, 2019. No additional candidates came forward following the Chair's call for further nominations. The two appointed member candidates where each provided with up to two minutes to speak, following which a vote was taken.

It was moved by Diane Ballantyne, seconded by Chantal Côté, and unanimously **CARRIED**,

That Michelle Miner Seal be elected to fill the Executive Committee appointed member vacancy for the period from February 11, 2019 to May 15, 2019, after which date she will resign from the committee.

eScribe vote:

For:

Diane Ballantyne, Paige Bennett, Bob Cooper, Chantal Côté, Elizabeth Edgar-Webkamigad, Susan E. Elliott-Johns, Rebecca Forte, Melissa Gaffen, Tim Gernstein, Erin Glen, John Hamilton, Godwin Ifedi, Jacqueline Karsemeyer, Colleen Landers, Shannon Marcus, Marlène Marwah, Michelle Miner Seal, Mary-Anne Mouawad, Alicia Nunn, Tom Potter, Nicola Powadiuk, Jonathan Rose, Nicole van Woudenberg, Stephen Zimmermann

Result Against. Abstain. Absent.	Result	<u>For</u> : 24	Against:0	Abstain:	Absent: 9
----------------------------------	--------	-----------------	-----------	----------	-----------

5. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 4:51 p.m.

Signed: Nicole van Woudenberg, OCT	Signed: Michael Salvatori, OCT
Chair of Council	Registrar
Dated:	Dated: